Taylor Swift “1989” Album Released!

Posted 2 years ago







1989 – the highly anticipated and critically acclaimed fifth studio album of  global superstar and seven-time GRAMMY award winner, Taylor Swift – is available now on iTunes.


1989 is a touchstone – Swift’s songwriting and sonic evolution surprises us more than ever before. Heavily keyboard and beat driven, the pop sensibilities that have always been the hallmark of Taylor’s music now move front and centre on 1989.


“I spent two years making 1989. Two years gives you enough time to grow and change and let things inspire you. I was listening to a lot of late 80’s pop music and how bold those songs were and how that time period was a time of limitless possibilities. In thinking about that, this album is a rebirth for me. This is my very first pop album. 1989 is the most sonically cohesive album I have ever made and my favourite album I have ever made.” said Taylor.


1989 (Big Machine/ Virgin EMI) is executively produced by Taylor Swift and Max Martin, and sees Taylor work with collaborators Max Martin and Shellback, Jack Antonoff (Bleachers, Fun), Ryan Tedder (One Republic) and Imogen Heap.


The first single from 1989, Shake It Off, (written by Taylor Swift and Max Martin, and produced Max Martin and Shellback for MXM Productions), peaked at No. 1 in 64 countries on iTunes and remains atop the charts across the globe. The single has topped Billboard’s Hot 100 charts and has earned double Platinum-status by the RIAA for exceeding sales of two million downloads in the U.S. alone.


Singer, songwriter and multi-instrumentalist, Taylor Swift, is a global superstar, seven-time GRAMMY winner and the youngest winner in history of the music industry’s highest honor, the GRAMMY Award for Album of the Year. She is the first artist since the Beatles (and the only female artist in history) to log six or more weeks at #1 in the U.S. with three consecutive studio albums. Taylor has an album on Rolling Stone’s prestigious The 50 Greatest Albums of All Time (by women) list, Time magazine has named her one of the 100 Most Influential People in the world, and she is Billboard’s youngest-ever Woman of the Year and the only artist to have been awarded this honor twice.


Taylor Swift has career record sales in excess of 30 million albums and almost 80 million song downloads, and is one of the top 5 selling digital music artists worldwide. Taylor’s forth studio album RED, released almost two years ago by Big Machine, peaked at no. 1 on iTunes in over 50 countries and has sold more than 6 million copies to date, and more than 1.2 million copies in the U.S., (where it scored the highest first-week sales debut of any album in over a decade).


1989 (Big Machine) is available now on iTunes.


1989 Album Tracklisting:

1.       Welcome to New York

2.       Blank Space

3.       Style

4.       Out Of The Woods

5.       All You Had To Do Was Stay

6.       Shake it off”

7.       Wish You Would

8.       Bad Blood

9.       Wildest Dreams

10.    How You Get The Girl

11.    This Love

12.    I Know Places

13.    Clean


For more information please visit TaylorSwift.com or follow her on Facebook, Google +, Instagram, Tumblr and Twitter


For media enquiries please contact:

Kate Head: [email protected] / +44 (0) 207 841 7085


What are the critics are saying about 1989:


“Deeply weird, feverishly emotional, wildly enthusiastic, 1989 sounds exactly like Taylor Swift, even when it sounds nothing like she’s ever tried before. And yes, she takes it to extremes. Are you surprised? This is Taylor Swift, remember? Extremes are where she starts out.” – ROLLING STONE


“[1989]’s got a truth and power rare in commercialised pop.” – THE DAILY TELEGRAPH


“The really striking thing about 1989 is how completely Taylor Swift dominates the album: Martin, Kurstin et al make umpteen highly polished pop records every year, but they’re seldom as clever or as sharp or as perfectly attuned as this, which suggests those qualities were brought to the project by the woman whose name is on the cover.” – THE GUARDIAN


“By making pop with almost no contemporary references, Ms. Swift is aiming somewhere even higher, a mode of timelessness that few true pop stars — aside from, say, Adele, who has a vocal gift that demands such an approach — even bother aspiring to. Everyone else is striving to sound like now will have to shift gears once the now sound changes. But not Ms. Swift, who’s waging, and winning, a new war, one she’d never admit to fighting.”- THE NEW YORK TIMES


“Another classy and accomplished album from the smartest pop star of our times.” – TIME OUT


“[Taylor]’s produced what will no doubt be the pop album of the year…. Her musical evolution is evident throughout, as her growth as both an artist and a woman bring with them a heavy keyboard and beat driven sound.”- MTV


“The expertly crafted sound of 1989 … marks her most impressive sleight of hand yet — shifting the focus away from her past and onto her music, which is as smart and confident as it’s ever been. Who are these songs about? When they sound this good, who cares?”  TIME

Loading Facebook Comments ...